Artwork by Daniel Mitsui: Devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary under the title   Undoer of Knots.

Artwork by Daniel Mitsui: Devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary under the title Undoer of Knots.

UPC: 817531010831
55 minutes
Ignatius Press

Available November 1, 2019 - Pre-order HERE now.

Produced by the Grammy-award winning and Billboard Chart topping composer, musician and choir director at the University of Notre Dame, J.J. Wright, this album is a unique, beautiful recording that brings audiences a new vision of sacred music by fusing the rich heritage of Catholic sacred music with the tradition of jazz. It is a concertized vespers service that tells the story of the miraculous origin of Mary. The music takes the listener on a spiritual journey through ancient prayers and psalms that strengthen our relationship with Mary, Mother of God.

Combining a renowned choir, soloists, a string quartet, and a jazz piano trio, this composition is anchored by Gregorian chant and two Baroque motets by Giacomo Carissimi and Marc-Antoine Charpentier, while weaving together scripted and uplifting music for a jazz trio. Hymns include the Salve Regina, Hail Mary, Our Father, Magnificat, and more.

This new recording follows the critical success of Wright's Advent and Christmas cantata, O Emmanuel, which quickly became a classical bestseller and spent weeks on top on the Billboard Classical Charts.

"Wright cites Claudio Monteverdi’s thrilling Vespers of 1610 as his primary inspiration in this work. Monteverdi was peerless in both his church pieces and his popular numbers. He let these notions cross-pollinate at times."

— Jack Walton, South Bend Tribune

Track Listing:

1. Invitatory
Vespers for the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, J.J. Wright (1985)
2. Salve Regina - Giacomo Carissimi (1605-1674)
3. Antiphon I/Psalm 113
4. Covered Me
5. He
6. Intercessions
7. Our Father
8. Hail Mary
9. Magnificat - Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643-1704)
10. Collect
11. Final Blessing